skip navigation


By Press Release, 05/31/23, 8:30AM PDT


Coquitlam, BC – May 30, 2023 – This year’s Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament runs from June 1-4 in Coquitlam, BC. It features the best lacrosse players from British Columbia, Alberta, and the Western States of the US Box Lacrosse Association.

There are a total of 28 teams across 5 divisions: PeeWee (U13), Bantam (U15), Midget (U17), Female Bantam (U15), and Female Midget (U17). There are 22 teams from British Columbia (Coquitlam, Langley, Nanaimo, Ridge Meadows, New Westminster, Juan de Fuca, Saanich, Langley, Delta, Burnaby, and Surrey) plus a team from Edmonton, Alberta and 5 teams from the United States.

In 2022, USBOXLA won their first ever championship in the Female Bantam Division. The other champions were Juan De Fuca Whalers (PeeWee division), Langley Thunder (Bantam Division), and the hometown Coquitlam Adanacs won two gold medals (Female Midget Division and Midget Division).

The tournament has been hosted by the Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse Association for 38 years. The tournament was renamed in 2011 after former lacrosse star Trevor Wingrove. It only has top A1 caliber teams and is considered to be amongst the best in the country. The tournament is run by Heather Wilson and an incredible group of dedicated volunteers. The athletes from this tournament will go on to play for provincial, national, and collegiate teams and championships. We are proud to see many alumni of this tournament playing internationally and professionally in the National Lacrosse League and the Premiere Lacrosse League.

Gait Lacrosse has returned as our sponsor for the Trevor Wingrove Most Inspirational Player Award. The winner in each division is recognized for their quality of play, sportsmanship, and inspirational play to teammates. Paul and Gary Gait played minor, junior, and senior lacrosse against Trevor and would have battled against each other in the Dogwood Day Tournament, now the Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament.

Please visit for a complete listing of schedules and scores. A real-time system will help you track the schedule and scores across all 5 divisions. Admission to the tournament is free and all games are played at the Poirier Sports and Leisure Centre at 633 Poirier Street in Coquitlam. Gold medal games will be played on Sunday June 4: PeeWee (2:00pm), Bantam (12:30pm), Midget (5:00pm), Female Bantam (2:00pm), and Female Midget (3:30pm). Check the website for arena assignments and any changes to the schedule. National Lacrosse League stars will be present to hand out awards after each of the championship games.

Chase Hanson is the winner of the 2023 Trevor Wingrove Fund Bursary. Kiera Scott will be the first-ever winner of the Les Wingrove Fund Bursary. These will be awarded at the Coquitlam Foundation’s Annual Awards Ceremony which takes place Wednesday June 7th at the Evergreen Cultural Centre in Coquitlam. The bursary fund was established in 2013 and is awarded for post-secondary education or training to a student-athlete who exemplifies some of the qualities that made Trevor Wingrove an inspiration on and off the lacrosse floor. Some of these qualities include leadership, performance, dedication, commitment and perseverance, and sportsmanship (respect for
teammates, opponents, officials, and self). Starting in 2023 the Trevor Wingrove Fund Bursary will be awarded annually to a male student-athlete and the Les Wingrove Fund Bursary will be awarded annually to a female student-athlete. Chase will be attending Lander University in Greenwood, South Carolina next year to play lacrosse and study Criminal Justice. Kiera will be attending Simon Fraser University next year playing soccer and studying Kinesiology.

“On behalf of Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse, I am honored to welcome back athletes from BC, Alberta and the United States to this year’s Tournament. After last year’s successful inclusion of 2 Female Divisions, we are running both Bantam (U15) and Midget (U17) again this year. The feedback was extremely positive on having both the top Male and Female athletes competing at the most competitive event leading into Provincials. We hope to continue to grow this Tournament and build on the legacy that has been established here at CMLA.” Garrett Ungaro, President CMLA

“The Trevor Wingrove Memorial Tournament continues to showcase top lacrosse players from around British Columbia, Alberta, and the United States. The excitement around the tournament is palpable. The female division last year was a total success and we have 10 teams returning - including 2 from USBOXLA. This is a world-class tournament run by an amazing group of volunteers. We are grateful for community sponsorship and support from across North America!” – Craig Wingrove