skip navigation

Trout taken first in OCBLL Draft as founding four complete rosters

By USBOXLA Staff, 06/11/18, 11:45AM PDT


Landon Trout, here with Team USBOXLA in 2016, went first overall in the OCBLL Draft (Photo: Sherri Thomson)

Last week, the Ohio Collegiate Box Lacrosse League (OCBLL) conducted their first-ever player combine and draft, with Bellarmine University midfielder and former Team USBOXLA forward Landon Trout drafted first overall by the Aviators. 

Trout, who recently completed his freshmen season with the Knights (12 goals, 4 assists), is a Resolute Lacrosse product that also led U18 Team USBOXLA in scoring during the 2016 #bctour in Vancouver. 

“First and foremost, Landon is just a fantastic kid,” said Resolute Founder and Coach, Greg Bice. “He’s a fierce competitor. He’s easily the best offensive box player to ever come out of our program.

“Funny story about Landon; he didn’t make our program the first couple of years. He worked really, really hard. He totally bought into box lacrosse, and his game improved so, so much. He was probably the first kid we had that said, ‘I want to be a really good box lacrosse player.’ He put in time and worked, and worked, and worked.”

In addition to Bellarmine, six other NCAA DI programs saw their athletes taken in this year’s OCBLL Draft: Ohio State (7), Cleveland State (5), Robert Morris (2), Denver (1), Hartford (1) and Lehigh (1). 

The OCBLL Draft consisted of eight rounds, while league coaches further filled out their rosters by adding additional players at the conclusion of the day’s draft. 

The National Collegiate Box Series (NCBS) Ohio-based league begins its inaugural regular season on June 12 at the Gilmour Academy Arena. The league will showcase four teams – Aviators, Rivermen, Stags and Walleyes – in both Columbus and Cleveland over the next two months. 

Below, check out this year’s OCBLL full draft results, along with complete team rosters heading into the season. Plus, click here to see this year’s collegiate regular season schedules and stats for both the Ohio and Colorado NCBS leagues.

Pick Rd. Team Player Pos. School
1 1 Aviators Landon Trout Forward Bellarmine
2 1 Rivermen Jack Jasinski Forward Ohio State
3 1 Walleyes Michael Wilson Forward Cleveland State
4 1 Stags Connor O'Brien Forward Wheeling Jesuit
5 2 Stags Zach Whitenack Defence Cleveland State
6 2 Walleyes Andrew Boniface Forward Hartford
7 2 Rivermen Nick Musci Forward Ohio State
8 2 Aviators Hunter Barco Forward Ohio State
9 3 Rivermen Jack Hannah Forward Denver
10 3 Walleyes Jason Sullivan Forward Cleveland State
11 3 Stags Austin Popovich Forward Robert Morris
12 3 Aviators CJ Hughes Forward Capital
13 4 Walleyes Collin Mitchell Forward Seton Hill
14 4 Stags Cole Jaquith Forward Denison
15 4 Aviators Dylan Comella Defence Capital
16 4 Rivermen Logan Maccani Defence Ohio State
17 5 Stags Jed Manning Defence Ohio State
18 5 Aviators Skylar Whalund Defence Ohio State
19 5 Rivermen Matt Huizenga Goalie Ohio Northen
20 5 Walleyes Crew Cintron Forward Lehigh
21 6 Aviators Phillip Elliott Goalie Independent
22 6 Rivermen Colby Barker Forward Ohio State
23 6 Walleyes Jared Stepka Forward Cleveland State
24 6 Stags Sam Hixon Defence Onondaga
25 7 Rivermen David St. Clair Defence Seton Hill
26 7 Walleyes Nate Menendez Forward Cleveland State
27 7 Stags Max Elliot Defence Haverford
28 7 Aviators Cliff Kigar Forward Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
29 8 Walleyes Nathan Brunner Defence Limestone
30 8 Stags Eric NeCamp Forward Rollins
31 8 Aviators Evan Hellmich Defence Robert Morris
32 8 Rivermen Vittorrio Cancila Forward Indianapolis


Goalie: Phillip Elliott

Defense: Dylan Comella, Evan Hallmich, Robert Humphries, Carter Kistler, Keegan Logsdon, Bo Lori, Rob Serafin, Skylar Wahlund, Zach Whaley and Johnny Wiseman

Forwards: Hunter Barco, Tristan Copeland, Eli Dandenault, CJ Hughes, Griffin Hughes, Wills Hutras, Cliff Kigar, Otis Klingbeuil and Landon Trout

Head Coach: Dominique Alexander



Goalie: Matt Huizenga

Defense: Chris DiMarco, Mike Doud, Logan Maccani, Connor Ryan, Jeff Sands, David St. Clair and Ryan Stein

Forwards: Chase Baker, Colby Barker, Roman Bellisari, Matthew Blevins, Vittorrio Cancila, Noah Gleeson, Chris Haimbaugh, Jack Hannah, Troy Hootman, Jack Jasinksi, Bryce Keaton and Nick Musci

Head Coach: Dan Hardy



Goalies: Fin Anderson and Christopher Reynolds

Defense: Sheldon Andrews, Brandon Barker, Sam Camacho, Max Elliot, Sam Hixon, Jacob Humphreys, Jed Manning, Jackson Pfister, Cullen Sowder and Zach Whitenack

Forwards: Omari DeBerry, Shawn Ewert, Cole Jaquith, Stephen Massi, Eric NeCamp, Connor O’Brien, Austin Popovich and AJ Van Voorhis

Head Coach: Tyler Pfister



Goalie: Parker Hylton

Defense: Nathan Brunner, Gage Johnson, Trent Maendler Cade Salyers and Trent Thomas

Forwards: Otto Bohan, Andrew Boniface, Jake Cieszynski, Crew Cintron, Alex Hoyen, Zachary Kasson, Mark McGinley, Collin Mitchell, Nate Menendez, Brett Sooy, Jared Stepka, Jason Sullivan, Luke Waddling and Michael Wilson

Head Coach: Steve Gartelman