skip navigation

OCBLL regular season to start July 19, plus other key dates confirmed

By USBOXLA Announcement, 06/30/20, 12:00PM PDT


The back-to-back Ohio Cup champion Rivermen will be one of four teams vying for the OCBLL title in 2020. (Photo: Zach Heffner)

The Ohio Collegiate Box Lacrosse League (OCBLL) has confirmed the league’s key dates for the upcoming 2020 season, which is scheduled to officially begin on July 19 in Columbus, Ohio. 

Sanctioned by the US Box Lacrosse Association (USBOXLA) and governed by the National Collegiate Box Series (NCBS), the OCBLL will be the only collegiate league that will attempt to move forward with their 2020 NCBS season. Other NCBS leagues in Colorado, Connecticut, and Upstate New York were forced to cancel this year’s summer seasons due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic

The OCBLL is managed by long-time USBOXLA member, Resolute Lacrosse, who will be hosting all of the league’s games at the Resolute Athletic Complex in Columbus. Hosting at their own facility will allow for Resolute to better ensure pandemic-related health & safety standards are met for all players, coaches, officials, and other staff that will be attending these games.

The shortened season will include rosters for the league’s original four teams: the Aviators, the Stags, the Walleyes, and the back-to-back Ohio Cup champion Rivermen, who last year also won the inaugural NCBS National Championship at the USBOXLA Nationals in Irvine, California. The reigning champion Rivermen feature some of the country’s top college-aged players like Jack Hannah (Denver), Matt Huizenga (Ohio Northern), Nick Musci (Ohio State), Chris DiMarco (Ohio Northern), Noah Gleeson (Cleveland State), and many others. 

The OCBLL’s 2020 key dates include:

Combine (July 13)
Draft (July 15)
Regular Season (July 19-29)
Playoffs/Ohio Cup (July 3, 5 and 8)

For players that had previously submitted player interest forms or those that had still yet to submit their name, visit to register for the 2020 OCBLL season. 

The US Box Lacrosse Association (USBOXLA) is the country’s largest and most recognized box-specific governing body operating today. USBOXLA is a 501(c)3 charitable corporation whose mission is to develop and promote box lacrosse in the United States through a unified organization that provides high-value services, programs, and benefits to its members. Founded in 2010 by current University of Denver Associate Head Coach, Matt Brown, and former National Lacrosse League player, Shaydon Santos, USBOXLA has grown from a small regional association to one that presently serves over 25,000 individual members all over the US, all playing box lacrosse the right way.

About the NCBS
The National Collegiate Box Series (NCBS) was established by the US Box Lacrosse Association (USBOXLA) in 2018. The highly skilled series provides American collegiate players an opportunity to improve their overall lacrosse skillset through box lacrosse, to compete for a national championship, and also increase their chances of one day playing in the National Lacrosse League (NLL). First formed in 2017, the Colorado Collegiate Box Lacrosse League (CCBLL) predates the formation of the NCBS, joining the series when it was officially launched a year later. In 2018, the Ohio Collegiate Box Lacrosse League (OCBLL) was established with teams based in both Columbus and Cleveland. In 2019, over 200 US-born collegiate players competed in the NCBS, while new leagues in 2020 are expected to double the number of Americans taking part in this ground-breaking box lacrosse movement.

Recent News